top of page

The Wall of Inspiration

Last year I was so happy to receive my first ever postcard from an Author I admired. Until then I'd never known such wondrous things existed, and as a self confessed book geek you can imagine the thrill - an actual writer had taken the time to write to ME, they knew I existed! Well - writers of children's literature are my version of rock stars, so the impact of receiving this unsolicited gift (along with the authors own signed book) cannot be underestimated. I immediately framed the card and hung it in my library to inspire my young readers.

But wait (I thought), what if i can get MORE of these things of wonder and have a whole wall full of them for the children to read and be inspired? And lo - the Wall of Inspiration project was born! I posted on Twitter (it was still fairly early in my twitter experiences so I wasn't expecting much), but to my surprise and delight they started arriving!


Every postcard's arrival was a thrill, and another frame on the wall, until finally every spare wall in the school library was filled with them. In the quiet moments I often wander around re-reading the messages, and smiling - watch the children reading them aloud to each other, particularly if it's a writer they are currently enjoying. Thank you from the bottom of my heart to all of the wonderful Authors who took the time to write a message and post it. It may seem like a little thing, but to an avid reader you are Rock Stars, and your words an inspiration :)


5 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page